CALIFORNIA DRUNK DRIVING LAW
 CALIFORNIA'S MOST RECOGNIZED RESOURCE


FREE CONSULTATION: 888-938-4911

Fourth Offense DUI

FOLLOW US ON GOOGLE+













Fourth Offense DUI

FOURTH OFFENSE DUI PENALTIES IN CALIFORNIA 

A Fourth Offense DUI is an automatic felony. Sentencing usually begins with sixteen (16) months in State Prison in most counties across entire the State of California, some less and some more. In either instance, anyone charged with a Fourth Offense DUI in California should hire an experienced DUI Defense Lawyer.

DUI PENALTIES FOR FOURTH OFFENSE DUI 

CURRENT
OFFENSE

SEPARATE* OFFENSES

WITHOUT PROBATION

WITH PROBATION FOR 3 TO 5 YEARS

VC § 23152

3 OR MORE

 

Current offense date within 10 years of 3 or more convicted offenses under VC § 23101,VC §§ 23102, 23152, 23153, or 23103 per §23103.5(c).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

VC § 23620: Drunk boating (Harb. & Nav. § 655 (b)(c)(d)(e)) after 12/31/91 equals VC § 23152; Pen. C. §§ 191.5 and 192(c)(3), and, after 12/31/91 drunk boating w/injury (§655(f)), equal VC §23153.

VC § 23550

VC § 23552

•   $390 to $1000 fine, plus assessments (§§23550(a), 23552(a)).

•   Refusal is additional 18 days jail if pled and proven (§23577(a)(5)).

•   Any jail term must include 48 continuous hours jail or 10 days community service (§23580, but see Pen. C. §2900.5(f)).

•   Revoke license 4 years with restriction eligibility after 12 months (13352(a)(7)). Effective 1/1/12, CVC §23597 will authorize courts to order 10-year license revocation for persons with three or more separate 23152 or 23153 convictions regardless of the date, subject to certain limitations. See §10:24.2(a).

•   Ignition interlock optional up to 3 years (§23575(l), see §10:29), but required for restricted license (13352(a)(7) and (§23575(f)(1)). [Mandatory 36-month IID for convictions in Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento, and Tulare on or after July 1, 2010—see §10:29.1]

•   Designated habitual offender (§23550(b), see Fig. 2-3).

•   If under 14-year-old passenger pled and proved, additional 90 days jail, unless sentenced to prison, or convicted of Pen. C. §273(a) (§23572(a)(4)).

•   Mandatory car impound 1 to 90 days unless unusual circumstances, but only if two prior §23152 or 23153 convictions within 5 years (§23594).

•   May confiscate and sell car (§23596(a)(1)(B)).

    If one or more priors within 10 yrs was punished as a felony (23550.5, §115.2): Up to 1 yr jail or 16 months, 2 or 3 yrs prison.

180 days to 1 year jail, or 16 months, 2 or 3 years prison (§23550(a)).*

 

Shall impound car 1 to 90 days (§23594).

180 days to 1 year jail (§23552(a)), unless defendant requests 30-month DDP, in which case the minimum jail time is 30 days (§23552(b)).

 



Website Builder